r38a – Mc58 # 1924 Kell/Collins Five Pound Banknotes

1924 Kell/Collins Five Pound Banknote

r38a 1924 Kell/Collins Five Pound Banknotes

Obverse Coat of Arms
Reverse Hawkesbury River, N.S.W
Signatories James Kell, Chairman of Directors, Note Issue Department
Commonwealth Bank of Australia
James R. Collins, Secretary to the Treasury
Size 180.34mm [width] 78.74mm [height]
Composition Paper – 75 gsm
Watermark Light basketweave around edges and ’£5’ (twice) in centre
Dark ’Commonwealth’ above and ’Australia’ below centre
Serial Numbers Black Signatures Prefix letter Q over numeral
Q/0 000001 to Q /5 [last number unknown]

Notes :
This note, designed and printed by Thomas S. Harrison, is longer and narrower than earlier issues. It was introduced to improve production efficiency by allowing 6 notes instead of 4 to be printed on each sheet. The reverse design of the Hawkesbury River was retained and additional security features were added. A basketweave watermark was used around the borders and the denomination appears in watermarks in the center of the note.

Approximately 11,290,400 five pound notes were printed between 1924 and 1927 with James Kell’s signature, firstly as Chairman, Note Issue Department, then changing to Governor of the Commonwealth Bank in 1927. The Kell/Collins signature combination was printed in both black and dark blue. Examination by holding the note up to light may be necessary to determine the colour used on a particular note.

Auction Prices
2013  [5243] 8343
2014 2563  5760
2015 1800
2016  [1880]1950